Academic Calendar

Dates in this calendar are subject to change without notice; dates appearing in admission and registration instructions take precedence over those listed below.

Summer 2018

Date Event
Monday, May 14 Beginning of Session I
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day - classes DO NOT meet
Monday, June 11 Beginning of Session II
Monday, June 25 Beginning of Session III - 6 weeks
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day - classes DO NOT meet
Monday, July 9 Beginning of Session III - 4 weeks
Friday, August 3 Close of Summer session
Tuesday, August 7 Final Grades due by 12:00pm

Fall Semester 2018

Date Event
Thurs-Sat, Aug. 16-18 WWAMI orientation
Monday, Aug. 20 Classes begin
WWAMI Classes begin
Cooperatively Offered Courses at Washington State University begin
Monday, Aug. 27 Last day to add course or change course section on-line
Friday, Aug. 31 Last day to drop a course without having a grade of ‘W’ recorded
Last day to add a course with instructor permission
Monday, Sept. 3 Labor Day – classes DO NOT meet
Monday, Oct. 15 Beginning of Late 8 week part of term
Friday, Oct. 26 Last day to withdraw from a course or from the university
Mon-Fri, Nov. 19-23 Fall recess
Mon-Fri, Dec. 3-7 No-examination week
Mon-Fri, Dec. 3-14 College of Law finals examinations
Saturday, Dec. 8 Commencement
Mon-Fri, Dec. 10-14 Final examinations
Friday, Dec. 14 Close of Fall semester
Tuesday, Dec. 18 Final Grades due by 12:00pm

Intersession 2018-2019 

Note: Scheduled breaks for the observance of holidays vary by class.

Date Event
Saturday, Dec. 15 Classes begin
Tuesday, Jan. 8 Close of Intersession
Friday, Jan. 11 Final Grades due by 12:00pm

Spring Semester 2019

Date Event
Thursday, Jan 3 WWAMI classes begin
Monday, Jan. 7 Law classes begin
Cooperatively offered courses at Washington State University begin
Wednesday, Jan. 9 Classes begin
Thursday, Jan. 17 Last day to add course or change course section on-line
Last day to add a course with instructor permission
Monday, Jan. 21 Martin Luther King/Human Rights Day – Classes DO NOT meet
Wednesday Jan. 23 Last day to drop a course without having a grade of ‘W’ recorded
Monday, Feb. 18 Presidents' Day – UI Closed
Mon-Fri, March 11-15 Spring recess
Monday, March 18 Beginning of Late 8 week classes
Friday, March 29 Last day to withdraw from a course or from the university
Mon-Fri, April 29-May 3 No-examination week
Mon-Fri, April 29-May 10 College of Law final examinations
Mon-Fri, May 6-10 Final examinations
Friday, May 10 Close of Spring semester
Saturday, May 11 Commencement
Tuesday, May 14 Final Grades due by 12:00pm